Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship


The Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship was established to honor an extraordinary horseman and person. Bob started his career with quarter horses at Willow Brook Farms in Pennsylvania where he helped the owner, CT Fuller, develop a breeding and training program around the AQHA and NRHA Hall of Fame stallion, Joe Cody. Bob was an influential trainer who believed that reining horses should have their own stage to compete on and was instrumental in the creation of the NRHA. Inducted into the NRHA Hall of Fame in 1992, Bob was a competitor, trainer and judge who won six NRHA World Championships in addition to countless other awards.



With a no-nonsense approach to horse care, training and riding Bob was known for taking good horses and making them great. The nominee for this award should be able to demonstrate the ability to improve their draw throughout his or her ride. Whether it was in the barn or while riding, Bob believed that when working with horses less is better than more. The nominee should demonstrate a desire to improve his or her horsemanship skills and knowledge towards horse care. The nominee must have a competitive spirit to honor this great legend.

The winner will receive the financial award from the Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation.



  1. Full-time undergraduate IHSA member who competes in the IHSA Class 16 - Open Reining class during the year of qualification for the award.
  2. Nominee must be in good standing with the IHSA.
  3. Nominee has demonstrated financial need to his or her coach.
  4. An IHSA coach will nominate a rider that fulfills the criteria listed above and complete the Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship Nomination Form for submission.
  5. The Regional President or Regional Point Keeper must verify that the nominated rider has competed in the appropriate division for the qualifying year. A letter or email confirming this must accompany the Nomination Form.
  6. Nominations must be submitted by February 21, 2021 to the following email address: Desiree Molyneux at
    NOTE: Nomination forms will only be accepted via email.  

  7. The award winner will be chosen by the Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship Committee.
  8. The winner and nominator will be notified immediately after the decision is finalized. The winner will also be announced at the 2021 IHSA National Horse Show and will be presented with the scholarship at this time, unless he or she is unable to attend the show. Arrangements for the scholarship to be mailed must be made with Desiree Molyneux.

2021 Bob Anthony Memorial Scholarship Application (pdf)


Previous Winners

2019 - Jordan Miles - Reedley College 

2018 - Juliana Ronn - Mount Holyoke College 

2017 - Haley Ruffner - Alfred University 

2016 - Selena Finn - University of Nebraska Lincoln